About us

Our History

The history of our library dates back to the 1930s when the first public library in Stephens County began.

The library began as a Works Progress Administration Project. The Toccoa Woman’s Club, The Kiwanis Club, and the U.D.C. were instrumental in procuring books and funding for library programs and services.

The library has grown over the past decades into a current, modern, state-of-the-art facility. The Toccoa-Stephens County Library is a Georgia Pines Library.


Meet the Team

Justin Haynes

Library Manager

Darlene York

Assistant Manager

Shantelle Grant

Regional Children and Youth Director

Carol Glaze

Adult Programming Director

Kathy Browne

Library Assistant

Heather Morgan

Library Assistant

The truth is that teamwork is at the heart of great achievement. 

-John C. Maxwell

Kase Jameson

Library Assistant, Information Technology Support

About our Board

A six-member Board of Trustees guides the Toccoa-Stephens County Public Library. This board selects the library manager and approves financial reports throughout the year. The board conducts six regular meeting throughout the year, on the fourth Thursday of every other month, beginning in January. Meetings are held at the library and are open to the public. The current board consists of, left to right, Tim Martin, vice chair; Doris Adams; John Dickerson, chair; Lynn Cox; Billy Chism, secretary; Michelle Austin. Board of Trustees are appointed to a three-year term by the Stephens County Board of Commissioners.

Two local board members – Lynn Cox and Billy Chism – serve on the regional board of the Northeast Georgia Regional Library System.
The Regional System serves libraries in Stephens, Rabun, Habersham and White counties.

The Board of Trustees meets the fourth Thursday of alternating months at 1:30 pm at the library. 2021 meeting dates: January 28; March 25; May 27; July 22; September 23; November 25.

Also governing the Library is Mrs. Delana Knight. She is the Regional Library Director of the Northeast Georgia Region, which includes Stephens, Habersham, White, and Rabun.

Friends of the Library


Friends of the Library help fund our public library, the “Read at Home” program, and the children’s “Summer Reading” program, among others. We buy specific items needed by the library and contribute to the library’s discretionary fund. Click the logo on the right to download the FOTL application and join the cause.

We meet on the 3rd Monday of the month (August-May) at 10:30am at the library.

Stephanie Cortellino – President
Brenda Gordon – Vice President
Anne Caudell – Treasurer
Opal Griffin – Secretary

Our next meeting is Monday February 27 at 10:30am at the Library.    ( this is a change in the date due to Presidents Day)